Thread: Would this be considered sprinting? page

beckinwolf is offline Member

Shop Now

I've never done any kind of sprinting before, so its totally new to me. I've read the PB book, so I know what to do, but I just want to make sure that I'm doing it right. I work the usual 8-5 job, so I have to do my exercising after work. When it gets lighter and warmer out, I'll be working out, outside, but for now, I'm in the gym. What I've been doing is I'll warm up on the treadmill walking for 10 mintutes at 3.0 MPH with no incline. Then I bump it up to 4 MPH and incline 10%. This might not sound like a lot, but to me, its as fast as I can go. I'm currently around 200, 5'4", large frame, basically built like a brick-outhouse, as the phrase goes. Anyway, I've been "sprinting" at this rate, 4MPH/10%. What I do is I do this for 1 minute, then walk at 2MPH, no incline, for another minute, then do the sprint for the next minute, and so on for about 10 minutes. My pulserate gets up around 160, which is pretty darn high for me. I think its about 80-85% of my maximum heart rate. Does this sound like sprinting? It might sound like a silly question, but I've never done this before, so just double-checking.

Carpe Diem!

Trau is offline Junior Member

I'd say your speed isn't as crucial as your heart rate. That's what interval training is all about. As you get more accustomed to sprinting, you'll notice your speed will have to go up a bit (to an eventual plateau) to keep your heart in the same range.

gloinchin is offline Junior Member

160 bpm is not high enough to be considered HIIT. You have to go 180+ bpm. I do not think a treadmill is suitable for HIIT. You should try to go outside and then sprint for as fast you can for 20-30 seconds, then rest, repeat.

PR's:

800m: 2:22
    Mile: 4:56
    10K: 38:55
    Half-Marathon: 1:26:23

AlanBradin is offline Junior Member