Thread: New and Confused from Wisconsin! page

skipsbarryimage is offline Junior Member

New and Confused from Wisconsin!

Shop Now
    Hello!

I am a high school student from Wisconsin. I am taking an ungodly amount of academic and science courses I ride and show horses. I also plan on joining the school swim team next year (senior year, haha). I also have Lyme Disease, which is quite fun. Feel free to ask questions about that, I'll be more than happy to answer them, but don't feel like typing anything out about it unless someone specifically wants to know.

I was recently introduced to the Primal diet. Well, I was recently given a name and solid guidelines for a lifestyle I have wanted to live for a while now. And by recently I mean ~yesterday. Haa....I've been reading a lot on here, but it's a lot to take in.

I began making the switch (slowly) yesterday. I've been eating mostly almonds and salad right now. A bun-less burger for dinner yesterday And I even had mom pick up some ingredients for a Coconut Milk Fruit Smoothie I found on here! Which was delicious.

I do anticipate a few problems making "The Switch" however...and I was hoping some of you may be able to help me with these.

1: The swim coaches feed the swimmers spaghetti and subs, and lots of them, before meets. They encourage carbs, lots of them, and not from good sources. Plus, staying after school, being fed, and then going to swim, one doesn't have much of a choice but to eat the crap they give you.

2: Horse shows do not offer any primal friendly foods. At all.

3: I live with other people, and do not do the grocery shopping or cooking (usually).

So, are there any other high school or college people on here with similar issues? How do you do it?
    Actually, as I type, my mom is talking about going to Apple Bee's tomorrow...*sigh* steak and salad I suppose?

Analog6 is offline Senior Member
    Terranora, far north coast NSW, Australia