Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A Food Scientist?! In My Forum?! page

Foxmane is offline Junior Member

A Food Scientist?! In My Forum?!

Shop Now
    It's more likely than you think.

Greetings, salutations, et cetera, et al. I come to this community in a rather unique and unenviable position: I am a food chemist, specifically a second-semester Master's student in Food Science at Iowa State University, and I came to this funny old thing called Primal eating through a link to Tom Naughton's Fat Head through a link on a blog that I follow early in January. I decided to put the concepts to the test and modified my diet the very little that was required to go completely gluten, sugar, and grain-free for two weeks. For me, this was not difficult, as my diet tended towards the French and whole foods paradigms already. However, in that two weeks, I was quite frankly amazed at the results. I lost a persistent "scientist pudge" around the middle that the lab coat usually hides and am well on my way to a physique I never thought possible for willowy me. I have never been "unhealthy" in the eyes of the world, but in those two weeks I read widely on the topic of ancestral health, including Wheat Belly and Gary Taubes' seminal Good Carbs, Bad Carbs, and I realized that my diet, all cooked from my hands though it was, had made me feel a low-grade sort of tired all of the time. I managed to deduce that likely my entire family suffers from an undiagnosed gluten intolerance, myself included. I'm now convinced that I lost my appendix back in September due to the chronic inflammation from all of the bread that I was baking for myself after I moved to Iowa for school. I lost an organ to grains and the pervading conventional wisdom, and that, frankly, makes me mad enough to spit.