Thread: Alternatives/modifications to "lift heavy things"? page

mariemarie is offline Junior Member

Alternatives/modifications to "lift heavy things"?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I'm new to the primal lifestyle and am still doing my old workout (yoga/occasional jogging), but would like to incorporate more primal movement. Problem: I have a weak back (thanks genetics) and have thrown it out just from lifting 10 lbs the wrong way. My mother has had back surgery previously and my aunt has permanent nerve damage and limps because she lifted something the wrong way. I know there are back strengthening exercises I could do, but does anyone have any suggestions? I know my genes are not necessarily my fate but I would rather not risk losing my mobility. Thanks!
    Last edited by mariemarie; 02-03-2012 at 03:36 PM.

Boopy is offline Member
    I'm curious about this also. I have serious nerve pain every day (and night) from back problems, so I'm been planning on just skipping the "lift heavy things" part of the plan because I simply can't do it.

I was vaguely hoping that if I lost weight and increased my slow movement those two things might "rehab" my back and I would reassess that part of the plan in the future.
    44 year-old chick, 5'8"-ish, 2/6/12 Start Weight: 189.2
    My boopy stuff: MDA journal | Daily Plate

Sanctus Real is offline Senior Member
    Have you tried Mark's 5 Essential Movements? Those are all body weight exercises, so you don't have to worry about injuring yourself with lifting until you're sure you've built up your strength. They're in the free Primal Blueprint Fitness book he offers.
    Motherhood: When changing from pj pants to yoga pants qualifies as 'getting dressed'.

Lars86 is offline Senior Member
    Mobility is a use it or lose it scenario. You certainly don't want to injure yourself, but hiding from it is the wrong way to go.