Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Infant Primal ... Need some help! page

GBE300 Guest

Primal Fuel

Hello Mark et all,

I am new to primal, just into chapter 3 now in the book and been hanging around here reading non stop for a few weeks now.

I have a 5 month old and soon she will be slated to start on solid foods to help compliment the milk. Sadly we had issues with breast feeding and had to stop after 3 months. For the last 2 months she has been on a pretty health formula that has done well for her. We expect to continue this formula until she transitions fully to solid whole foods.

As for my question I was curious as to what the recommend foods would be for her at her 6 month point. What should we start feeding her and whats the progression. Also any comments from parents out there would be helpful this is our first!

Thanks for the help.

Cheers,

Chris.

Tarlach is offline Member

Our kids were eating pureed veggies at about 4-6 months and fist size chunks of steak at 6-8 months. Just keep an eye on her and she might surprise you with what she can eat.

Formula isn't food and I would be eliminate it as much as possible.

The "Seven Deadly Sins"

Grains (wheat/rice/oats etc) . . . . . Dairy (milk/yogurt/butter/cheese etc) . . . . . Nightshades (peppers/tomato/eggplant etc)
    Tubers (potato/arrowroot etc) . . . Modernly palatable (cashews/olives etc) . . . Refined foods (salt/sugars etc )
    Legumes (soy/beans/peas etc)

PrimalWannabeGirl is offline Senior Member

Ideal is breastmilk nearly exclusively until 1 year of age.

Barring that, I would try to substitute a homemade goat's milk formula for the conventional formula. You might want to check out the Weston Price website at this link: http://www.westonaprice.org/Recipes-for-Homemade-Baby-Formula.html

Google "homemade baby formula" and see what you come up with.