Thread: Finding my inner Grok... page

mrshinyhead is offline Junior Member

Finding my inner Grok...

Primal Fuel
    Hello all, new to the Primal plan, but I have worked in the fitness world for 25 years. I am embarrassed to say that I am an unhealthy professional martial artist. Ugh. Even admitting that hurt. For many years, training 15-20 hours a week in martial arts kept me in "fighting shape." However, as I aged, I have been dealing with creeping weight gain, slow healing injuries, the whole sad story.

In 2009, I realized that at 5'10" 230, I did not look or feel the part of a Master artist. Unacceptable to one as competitive as I am. I knew that eating the CW way was the culprit, but did not have the information to stop the issues. I started working the Atkins plan, and had great success. I lost 51lbs in about 6 months and only added a daily 3 mile walk to my workout plan. All was well, so I, of course, got off the wagon and over the last two years, have stuck to a strict by the dreaded food pyramid eating plan. Needless to say, in January 2012, I found myself back over 200. Ick.

Meanwhile, a martial artist friend I had not seen in a while came to my attention. This young man, when I saw him last Summer was 5'10" and about 230. I had followed his progress on Facebook, and as of two weeks ago, he is below 170. It was through him I learned of the Primal community. Thanks, Steven! My instructor would say that a Master who cannot learn from his students is no Master at all.

So, on January 17, 2012, at 217.9lbs, I embraced my inner Grok. I think all this time, I intuitively knew this was the way to eat and train, but was stuck in the CW. Happy to say that I find this lifestyle completely sustainable, and I look forward to a long life following Grok's footsteps.

Jeff

BTW: As of today, I am 205.1
    It doesn't matter how many times you are knocked down. It matters how many times you get back up.

Kakes is offline Senior Member
    Grok on mrshinyhead! Welcome!