Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Breakfast - Paleo hunger vs grain hunger page

ATN
    ATN is offline Junior Member

Breakfast - Paleo hunger vs grain hunger

Primal Fuel
    Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting on the forum!

My girlfriend and I started eating paleo 2 weeks ago. I was introduced to the diet by a friend who does a lot of crossfit/triathlon. I used to eat ample amounts of grains and not much veggies or fruits.

So far so good for me. For my gf, I could say it's a rough start. She mainly has trouble with breakfast. She used to eat oatmeal, yogurt, and almond butter (all mixed together). After this meal she didn't feel hungry. After the switch, she started eating walnuts, yogurt, blueberry, and some kind of fruit. The problem is that she feels pretty hungry 2 or 3 hours after that. She based her meal size according to the amount of calories she used to eat. I told her to base her meal size according to her hunger level but refuses to do so as she's under the impression that's it's too much and she'll gain weight.

I'd like to know if you got any suggestions that would help her hunger issue.

Thanks in advance
    Atn

lolawolf is offline Member
    I've heard from a lot of people to eat a lot of protein in the morning because it will help keep you full for longer. Also, from my understanding, primal is based on fat&protein - meat. She needs meat. I have a 20% beef hamburger and a couple servings of green beans for breakfast - delicious and satisfying for me =)
    Heaviest - 4/28/11 - 190
    - 1/12 - 171.4
    - 07/12 - 160&got pregnant!
    - 11/12 - 150ish
    Losing fat but gaining baby? WOO!
    Goal - healthy, happy baby and happy mama!

Croak is offline Senior Member