Thread: HRM and Calorie Burn page

mmapags is offline Member

HRM and Calorie Burn

Primal Fuel
    Hello Everyone!

I'm a newbie and really enjoying the start down the primal path. I've got an exercise question that I'm hoping for some input. First a couple of vitals. I'm 5'9", 200 lbs and about 20% body fat. I recently started using a Heart Rate Monitor. At first it was just to measure heart rate while doing sprinting or the high intensity cardio intrevals I'm doing. (trying to change my mindset and terminology). But I've started using the other functions, particularly the date summary at the end that give all the usual high hr, low hr, avg hr, tiem in zone and calories. here where my question comes in.

Both Saturday and this morning I used the HRM. Saturday I did a 5 mile hike on a fairly challenging course. It had elevation changes of 170 feet. Lot's of up and down. It took 1 hour 26 minutes and for the most part my HR was between 105 and 120 with occaisional spikes as high as 133 when pumping out a hill. At the end it said I had burned 857 calories!

This morning, I did 6 minute treadmill light jog warmup, then 2 sets each of woodchopper, vertical leg lifts, pushups, burpees, leapfrogs, 40 pound dumbell presses, 35 pound dumbell curls, assisted dips, assisted pullups, hanging knee to chest and lat pull downs and ended with 6 minute light jog on the treadmill. It took 56 minutes end to end and the HRM said 904 calories.

Can this be right?

Fernaldo is offline Senior Member
    Are you using a chest strap monitor or just a wrist model?

Chest strap.

Fernaldo is offline Senior Member
    Those are pretty accurate. It's very possible (confirmed by your HRM ) you burned more during your workout. You are doing quite a bit in that workout and your heart-rate would definitely be pretty high depending on the pace/intensity. Did you happen to see your max HR on your workout?