Thread: Trouble eating enough calories? page

bchanel is offline Member

Trouble eating enough calories?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I am new to primal and transitioning into it. On the days I eat fully primal though, I have a hard time breaking 1,000 calories. Some days I am fine, other days I am still hungry, but am not sure what else to eat and am tempted to add in carve or dairy. I would like to lose about 30 pounds, so I try to keep the fruit and starches to a minimum. On days that I only eat 800 and feel fine, is that just my body adjusting? Maybe I'm still brainwashed by CW, but I think I should probably eat more. I try to balance every meal around protein, fruit/veggies and fat. Also, has anyone done a sugar detox while eating primal? What foods are off limits? Thanks!

Glamorama is offline Senior Member
    I think you need to eat more, especially as you transistion. I aim for 1700-2200 kcals daily. I'm thinking of cutting that to a more consistent 1700-1800 now, as I have stalled and still want to lose more, but starting off low will only ensure your body thinks its starving. Later on you canIF and do all those things, but you have a better shot at succeeding if you don't walk around hungry!

Easiest way to up your calories: macadamia nuts and spoonfuls of coconut oil/butter. Primal bark containing both with dark chocolate is also an easy way to up calories. Fatty fish etc also makes for lots of cals with a ton of nutrition with it.

sbhikes is offline Senior Member
    The stuff you write doesn't sound like you are following the Primal Blueprint. Mark doesn't use words like "balance your meals" or "sugar detox".
    Female, 5'3", 49, Starting weight: 163lbs. Current weight: 135 (more or less).
    Starting squat: 45lbs. Current squat: 180 x 2. Current Deadlift: 230 x 2

Sue
    Sue is offline Senior Member
    Some days include higher calorie amounts if you can.

tfarny is offline Senior Member