Thread: Help with fitness page

afroette is offline Member

Question Help with fitness

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hey all,
    I am very overweight with recovering knee pain, weak shoulders, and occasional neck pain from arthritis. Three weeks ago I began going to the gym to do elliptical work for 30 minutes. I began twice a week and last week I did three times a week. The third day I did intervals for about 20 minutes and then I was too tired to do more than casually walk for the remaining 10 minutes. My elliptical work is moderate effort, like 1 mile/15 min. I do not feel winded and my heart rate averages around the low 120s.

I am thinking that I should increase the number of days I walk on the elliptical. I also want to do some lifting. I have resistance bands and an exercise ball at home. And then there are the weights and machine at the gym. I am also not an entire novice as I have taken 4 weight lifting classes when I was a smaller size. Any suggestions? I failed at the Primal Fitness pamphlet exercises. I want to lift heavy as everyone says but I am not exactly sure how to create the program. I am used to doing 3 sets, slight increases in weight.

Thanks for the help!
    Last edited by afroette; 01-29-2012 at 12:33 PM. Reason: Sets, not reps!
    5'9", 31 yr old female
    SW 364 - Started Primal about 12/5/11
    CW 293
    2nd GW 270

YAY! Vit. D deficiency gone and HDL finally over 40! 1/20/12

szorn is offline Member
    Quote Originally Posted by afroette View Post
    Hey all,