Thread: Coconut Oil, Bacon Grease, and Cheese page

DASawyer is offline Junior Member

Question Coconut Oil, Bacon Grease, and Cheese

Hello all. I'm just starting out on my Primal path, and I have a few questions.

First off, Coconut Oil. It seems to be very popular in the Primal community (I see frequent references to it on the forums and in recipes). However, I just happen to have a good amount of bacon grease saved from some bacon eating I did a while back. Is there a reason to prefer coconut oil over bacon grease? I'm thinking in terms of frying eggs and what not.

Secondly: Cheese. I know paleo says "no milk products, whatsoever". Mark seems to suggest it's not strictly "Primal", but that many people have no problem with the stuff, and so it's not absolutely disallowed the way refined sugars and cultivated grains are. I happen to consider cheese to be one of life's finer pleasures... and I tend to put it on everything (though I do often go for the more strongly flavored version to be able to cut back on volume).

So my question is: am I doing myself a disservice by continuing to include what some might consider a fairly large amount of cheese in my diet? I know the saturated fats aren't an issue... but is there some other reason I should restrict my intake?

patski is offline Senior Member
    Hi, and welcome =)

Use the bacon grease! It's amazing stuff. And we all know, everything tastes better cooked in bacon fat! I myself have a 'fat jar' and store all manner of excess fat in there. I use it for frying just about anything.

The reason coconut oil is so amazing is because it's comprised of Medium Chain Triglycerides. This means your body will use the fat as energy right away, and doesn't store it. It's easier to digest as well.