Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PB & Breastfeeding page

_Wifey_ is offline Junior Member

PB & Breastfeeding

Primal Fuel
    I've been dabbling with eating primally for a few months, but I really really really want it to work. My biggest problem (IMO) is that I'm breastfeeding a toddler. On days where he doesn't nurse that much, I seem to do just fine avoiding his snack foods & too much fruit. However, when he is having one of those "I'm not going to eat a single thing you put in front of me, so nurse me now woman!" days, I find myself reaching for his quick snacks & our dried fruit because I'm feeling like "OMG need sugar now!". Are there any other primal bfing mommas out there with tips or suggestions? Please? Even if I try to indulge sensibly, I tend to binge like an addict. :'(

Linny is offline Senior Member
    The only thing I can think to suggest is to up your calories by almost 1000 a day. It takes approximately 700 calories a day to produce breastmilk. When he nurses more he's signaling to your body to up production and if you're not consuming enough calories you will likely get cravings.

Debbah is offline Junior Member
    I try to have leftovers ready in the fridge for quick food. Walnuts are a quick, satisfying snack, too. I try to make my family a big, low carb breakfast before the baby wakes up, and that keeps me satisfied until she naps. Usually eggs and bacon (or sausage), occasionally some veggies.
    Starting Weight - 280 (4/23/11)
    Current Weight - 202 (3/1/12)

abstractpersona is offline Senior Member
    You're nursing, binge all you want, good to get some calories in you like someone else said above.
    Want snack ideas?

High fat cheeses
    Avocado
    Make a huge batch of pulled pork shoulder; dig at it with a fork
    Meatballs
    Liverwurst slices
    Liver pate
    Cheese crisps
    Coconut chips (sold as large flakes, yummy to munch on)

Also, read through these previous questions if you haven't already.