Thread: Mixed Bag of Questions page

lexie is offline Senior Member

Mixed Bag of Questions

Newbie here with some questions I hope you all can answer.

1) I'm very fair (think Snow White - dark hair, light skin, pink cheeks, etc.) and I've always burned in the sun. I've been reading more on helping my body adjust to the sun with certain foods and things. For lycopene, would tomato juice be a good choice in upping my lycopene intake? I know that juice is not the best to have, but as this is vegetable juice rather than fruit, I thought I'd run it by the group. While I like tomatoes, I'm not always in the mood to eat them every day. I could drink a glass of tomato juice with breakfast, though. Good idea or find another way to get more lycopene?

2) I live in a fairly cloudy city. During the winter, we see very little sun. I also work in an office. I'm sure my vitamin D levels are shot to hell. Should I buy one of those sun light therapy lamps? Do they help your body produce vitamin D, or do they merely make you feel like you're in the sun? Any effect on skin cancer risks? Basically, is this something worthwhile to research and purchase, or is it a waste of money? Would this help combat burning?

3) I've seen some statements that cooking cruciferous vegetables removes the issue for those with thyroid problems. Others say, even if cooked, you should still avoid. Any definitive word on this?

Thanks in advance!

JennaRose is offline Senior Member
    grapefruit has a lot of lycopene in it. watermelon does too, and guava.

not sure about the lamps or the veggies

namelesswonder is online now Senior Member