Thread: Preparing for antibiotics page

Turnstone is offline Senior Member

Preparing for antibiotics

Primal Fuel
    I was diagnosed with Lyme Disease, so in one week I have an appointment with my doctor and I want (not really, but I have to anyway) to start my antibiotics treatment. I don't know yet how long it takes, but at least 4-6 weeks, maybe even longer.
    I have read Marks series about antibiotics, so I know this will be a hard time for my body, and especially my gut. I will take probiotics and eat more prebiotics.
    Is there anything else I can do?

silverfox is offline Junior Member
    Hi there
    I'm not sure if I have much in the way of useful information but I just wanted to let you know that you're not alone. I'm a 25 year-old woman/grad student and I was diagnosed with lyme disease about two years ago. Unfortunately I was diagnosed at least 3 years after I was infected and the cure rate for people who aren't diagnosed early is pretty low with the short turn run of antibiotics. Last time I saw a practitioner she wanted to put me on antibiotics for 9 months to 3 years. The reality is that I'm fairly healthy most of the time and the antibiotics would probably make me sicker.

I have found that as long as I exercise regularly, eat healthy, and supplement with magnesium to prevent muscle cramps I am pretty functional. I'd say that the best thing you can do for yourself when you start taking antibiotics is to eat really healthy and exercise.

Feel free to PM me if you have questions about this. I'm no expert on lyme but I have been dealing with it for awhile.

Good luck,
    Faith

Turnstone is offline Senior Member
    Thanks, Faith!