Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I never woke up at night to urinate as a vegetarian, but do so as caveman! page

ewilhelm is offline Junior Member

I never woke up at night to urinate as a vegetarian, but do so as caveman!

Primal Fuel
    I have been eating a paleo diet for 8 years, first inspired by the work of Eaton and Cordain. I'm not aware of any health issues, am lean, and, due to OCD, consider it fun to do hormonal and micronutrient tests, so have high confidence that my cortisol, testosterone, vitamins, lipids, and other measures are all in the optimal range. I kitesurf or paddlesurf whenever I can, and do crossfit (no more than twice per week) when the weather isn't conducive to going in the ocean.

Prior to switching to a paleo diet, I was a strict lacto-ovo vegetarian for 10 years. I was lucky never to have any serious problems with a vegetarian diet, but will report that it's great to actually feel full after eating -- unlike after a meal of beans and rice or pizza -- and awesome to be able to put on muscle. However, one notable difference is that I now often wake up 3-4 hours after falling asleep, urinate, and then fall immediately back asleep. As a vegetarian, this never happened (and it's not just rose-colored memories: much of that time was in college or grad school where I slept in an elevated loft and getting out of bed required climbing over my girlfriend and down a ladder -- getting up every night would have been quite memorable). Further, I remember the best sleep happening after I ate a bunch of sugary, processed crap right before bed like cookies, peanut butter, or ice cream. Even further, as a vegetarian, I drank a lot of water (multiple liters per day), and never worried about drinking it all in the last hours of the day. Now, if I find myself thirsty in the last few hours before bed, I try to ignore the thirst to see if I can sleep through the night.