Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carb cycling - time btw refeeds? page

heatseeker is offline Senior Member

Carb cycling - time btw refeeds?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hey all! So, I've been experimenting with Leangains, and I think I've got it down pretty well (though it took A LOT of reading on lg.com and searching for LG threads here). I'm also doing Starting Strength because I want to get serious about lifting.

My only question has to do with the timing of carb cycling. Right now I'm doing a MWF lifting schedule. I know I'm supposed to do higher carb-lower fat on lifting days. But I'm wondering if it's correct to basically be doing low carb-high fat one day, then high carb-low fat the next, and back and forth? It seems to me (and really, I'm a total noob, so please correct me if I'm wrong) that all that quick back-and-forth can't really be the right way to go about it.

Right now my schedule is:

Monday: 5x5s squat, deadlift, press; high carb, high protein, low fat
    Tuesday: HIIT with sandbag, 15-20 min; med carb, high protein, med fat
    Wednesday: Active rest day (lots of moving slowly, yoga); low carb, med protein, high fat
    Thursday: 5x5s squat, deadlift, bench; high carb, high protein, low fat
    Friday: HIIT with sandbag, hill sprints, isolated gymnastic skills; med carb, high protein, med fat
    Saturday: 5x5s squat, deadlift, press; high carb, high protein, low fat
    Sunday: Active rest day; low carb, med protein, high fat

And obviously it's a two-week cycle, but you get the picture.

Does this seem right? I know this is super nitpicky and I should just go with the flow and all that, but I don't want to inadvertently be messing up my results, even in the smallest way.

Thanks for the input!

activia is offline Senior Member
    that sounds exhausting!
    Primal since March 2011

Female/29 years old/5' 1"/130ish lbs

otzi Guest