Thread: grains and acne connection? (probiotics question as well) page

dirk41 is offline Senior Member

grains and acne connection? (probiotics question as well)

Primal Fuel
    So I've posted here in the past about going primal to help clear up my face. I'm a college student and I can't cook, so going 100% primal probably isn't realistic, but I've continued to make strides since discovering the primal way last summer. I've had acne since high school, and all the medications (mostly antibiotics) and creams I've used haven't worked (or worked for a little bit then stopped being effective). I've been to the dermatologist a couple of times and not once was diet ever mentioned.

Having read MDA and searched this forum on acne topics, it seems a lot of people have had success cutting out sugar, grains, and dairy from their diet. I've done a few experiments over the past few months on myself, and I can conclude that I don't believe dairy affects my acne too much, and cutting out sugars helped a little. During my school's Winter Break, there was a 1-2 week period in which I ate minimal grains. I probably didn't consume more than 50-75 grams of carbs per day during that stretch. My face was as clear as its ever been since like 8th grade. No whiteheads, blackheads, or red bumps. Unfortunately, I broke my low-carb streak while at a friends (his mom made spaghetti and meatballs for dinner). Within hours of eating, I noticed a couple of whiteheads on my face. When I woke up the next morning, I could feel inflammation on my face and a few bumps. So I think it safe to think that grains contribute to my acne.