Thread: Getting some labwork done (On-line) page

abstractpersona is offline Senior Member

Getting some labwork done (On-line)

Primal Fuel
    Is it possible to get lab work done online without having to go through my GP? I know people can order lab work online, but apparently you must have your GP set it up for you?
    I really don't feel like paying 600 dollars to my GP for doing nothing but sit on his ass while eating Twinkies (just kidding, just kidding...)

I'm in Maine, if it matters.

I want to get:
    TSH + Free t4 + Free t3 + TSI
    Total cholesterol + HDL + Triglicerides
    Or something like that anyway. I'm dirt poor, so I don't want to pay for more than that.

• Also, does anyone know if the recommended lab work for Grave's disease (hyperthyroidism) would be the same as for hypothyroidism?
    • And I know I would still have to go to a clinic and get blood drawn, but that's free of charge, right?

Sorry for the newbie questions, I'm still new to dealing with my health-care on my own.
    Last edited by abstractpersona; 01-24-2012 at 08:27 PM.
    My smartphone makes me about $100 per month
    Updating my journal again after a 2 year break.

EileenC is offline Junior Member
    Yes, you can order your own bloodwork online, print out the orders, and then take them to a designated local lab (often Lab Corp) to do the blood draw. Typically you get your results by email. I do this to manage mine and two of my kids' thyroid disease, because our stupid doctors often won't order the labs we feel we need to see what's really going on, and/or our insurance won't let us check certain numbers because it's "too soon." If you're checking thyroid numbers in particular, go here and get some special deals: Recommended Labwork | Stop The Thyroid Madness. Scroll down, and you'll see several online providers. You'll pay by credit card online, and when you get to the blood draw place they shouldn't charge you anything there. Good luck!

jel