Thread: Gout page

CHL
    CHL is offline Junior Member

Gout

I have recently been diagnosed with gout.

I am interested in learning how following the Primal Blueprint may effect my gout flare ups.

I am especially interested in research on the conventional purines trigger versus the more recent fructose connection.

Does anyone have any personal experiences or know the science?

js290 is offline Senior Member
    Lay off the fructose. Gout is caused by uric acid which is a byproduct of fructose metabolism.

Fructose - YouTube

mgrollins is offline Junior Member
    Hi! I'm a newbie. I've suffered with Gout for the last 5 years. I had all the trappings of a great gout candidate (metabolic syndrome, family history of diabetes, high cholesterol, etc). In the last year, I stopped drinking heavily and I started taking once a day allipurinol. This combination stopped my gout outbreaks. Last week I started the 21-day primal 'plan' and everything was great. I also started around 5000mg of Fish oil a day. BAM .... my gout came back with a vengeance, even w/ the allipurinol. The attack (in my knee & ankle) was so bad that I had to dip into my stash of vicodin that I keep for this type of emergency.

SO .... I did some research and found that the type of Fish Oil can adversely affect purines/uric acid levels, causing gout. My supplements were cheap, and made from anchovy, mackerel, and sardine. I tossed these supplements today and bought supplements made from wild caught salmon. I didn't even know that these were available, or I would have bought them earlier!

I am wondering if others have had this experience with Fish Oil supplements and Gout. I would also like to start a dialog with others experiences with gout early in their 'Primal Journey'!

Thanks so much!

Matt

prin1113ci is offline Junior Member

Gout

Gout is a rheumatic disease resulting from deposition of uric acid crystals in tissues and fluids within the body .

mobilt bredbånd priser