Thread: Preparing Tallow to Eat by Itself page

Preparing Tallow to Eat by Itself

I was wondering how I would prepare tallow if I just wanted to eat a couple of tablespoons as I know eating it as it is wouldn't have been through enough of a cooking process to rid of germs. I am new to cooking so I apologize: if I cook a good portion of tallow should I refrigerate it after to solidify it for a better taste or should I eat it hot?

Why do I have to render the tallow on a low heat? Couldn't I just cook it during the rendering process or is this just a dumb question lol.

Also: after rendering a pound and a half of tallow with a cup of water, do I need to refrigerate it because it isn't that much water? And if I do how long do I have to refrigerate it? Thank you for anyone who has any advice or who has tried to help.

tamo42 is offline Senior Member
    I've never eaten tallow straight, but the rendering process is simple. Cut the fat into small chunks, put it in a pot on low (Orin the oven at about 225 degrees F) and wait. Stir occasionally. Eventually it will melt,the water will be evaporated out, and you will be left with a transparent golden brown bowl of awesome.
    http://www.theprimalprepper.com - preparing for life's worst while living for the best

Uncephalized is offline Senior Member
    Rendering tallow brings it to boiling-water temperature. It is perfectly safe to eat it. I don't really know why you'd want to eat it straight instead of using it to cook with, but it's fine.
    Today I will: Eat food, not poison. Plan for success, not settle for failure. Live my real life, not a virtual one. Move and grow, not sit and die.

My Primal Journal