Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nursing and Primal? page

Mama_Jane is offline Junior Member

Nursing and Primal?

Shop Now
    Hello all-
    I'm very new to this and trying get my body back after baby #4, nursing a three month old on demand, have about 40 -50 lbs to spare, my body tends to hang onto fat while nursing...

Any suggestions? Any advice from paleo/primal nursing mamas?

zoebird is offline Senior Member
    It's the same advice for any nursing mother -- consume what you need, and don't worry so much about it.

I nursed my DS for 3 yrs. It wasn't until he as 14 months old -- and mostly using food for nutrition, not breast milk -- that the fat came off. I mostly carried it in my upper back, arms, shoulders and chest. It was very funny looking IMO.

Athanasey is offline Senior Member
    I started primal when my baby was 10 months. She was still demand feeding a lot then. I've never worried about counting calories. I just eat primally and the weight it coming off. I probably consume the same amount of calories but the type differs a lot. The only time my supply was affected was when my calories dropped too low. She is 15 months now and still nurses a decent amount, she also follows a primal diet.

My advice is just eat primal foods when you're hungry and don't expect too much while feeding. Your body will naturally want to hang on to a bit more.
    Became Primal August 2011

SW - 84kg / 185lb
    CW - 60kg / 132lb
    GW - 60kg / 132lb

Shijin13 is offline Senior Member
    I'm still nursing a 22 mth old. I went primal when he was 6mths. I saw an increase in supply! Primal and nursing go hand in hand. The baby weigh will come off with good eating, and moderate exercise like walking w/baby in a carrier, squats w/baby in carrier. Push ups, and pull ups!
    The most depraved type of human being is the man without a purpose. ~ Ayn Rand
    What's your purpose? Mine is Optimal Health.

Converted to PB November 2010
    SW 190lb