Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Eggs drain the body of digestive enzymes?! page

patski is offline Senior Member

Eggs drain the body of digestive enzymes?!

Primal Fuel
    Howdy!

I've been seeing a holistic allergist. She's been great, or rather, the homeopathic drops she's given me, and my dietary changes have been great. I don't buy into everything she does/says.

The last time I saw her, she warned me against eating eggs every day for breakfast. She told me they drain the body of digestive enzymes, and I should be careful, because I had my gallbladder removed.

WTF!!?!?! My BS alarm went off in my head. What do ya'll think?

DaisyEater is offline Senior Member
    Sorry to be snarky, but your BS alarm went off at that and not at homeopathy?

Snarky is ok I'm an ass most times.

No, I've been using homeopathic remedies for several years, and I have noticed a huge difference. No, I don't believe it's in my head.

raney is offline Senior Member
    The enzyme reference sounds like raw foodist related pseudo-science bs to me. However, eggs can invoke a histamine response by elevating IgE antibody levels in response to proteins found in the whites.

If you have any potentially histamine response related symptoms it may be worth trying to eliminate them for a period and see how you feel. You'll find some folks in the paleosphere that separate their whites and yolks, pouring the former down the drain.

O RLY?

What would be an example of histamine response symptoms? Now you have my curiosity piqued...

Egg allergy symptoms can include:

Skin inflammation or hives ó the most common egg allergy reaction
    Allergic nasal inflammation (allergic rhinitis)
    Digestive (gastrointestinal) symptoms, such as cramps, nausea and vomiting
    Asthma signs and symptoms such as coughing, chest tightness or shortness of breath
    Mayo clinic's egg allergy resource (I know, I know - I'm linking to the proprietor of CW.)