Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Anyone had success (or at least not gotten fat) by adding in starch? page

primalsun is offline Member

Anyone had success (or at least not gotten fat) by adding in starch?

Hey guys! So I know everyone is different and my body will probably not react the same way as any of the people who answer this. BUT I'm curious to know if anyone has experienced strength/ muscle gains and/or fat loss when adding in starches. I have recently realized I am in fact poor and can not eat the way I have been eating for the last three months. Previously (as in before today) I have eaten around 1+ pounds of grass fed beef per day with about 3-6 pastured eggs (+ tons of organic veggies). However, now that my eyes have been opened to how pathetic my financial situation truly is I plan to cut my meat consumption down by about 1/3, add in sweet and red potatoes, and switch to cage free eggs as opposed to pasture raised. I know its not really optimal but I don't think its that bad of a compromise seeing as it will save me roughly $150/month in groceries. I'm not really interested in carb cycling but rather plan on having potatoes as part of my daily meal at lunch and dinner regardless of whether or not i'm lifting (I lift 3x per week and do crossfit 3-4x per week). So all in all it should come out to 2-3 small-medium sized potatoes per day which I'm thinking will equal about 75-125 g of carbs from starch. Oh and my goals? Right now just trying to maintain weight while slowly gaining strength and slowly leaning out, not looking for any quick fixes here or anything. My only concern really is that I naturally gravitated toward a VLC way of eating since going paleo/primal a few months ago; therefore, I don't want my body to react negatively to an increase in starch. Thanks guys

Lily Marie is offline Senior Member
    What about eating canned fish? Sardines are nice and fatty - they're usually pretty cheap, compared to grass fed beef.