Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fell apart during crossfit page

Shaman is offline Junior Member

Fell apart during crossfit

Primal Fuel
    This is going to make me sound like the most snivelly person on the planet, but I recently started Crossfit and during the WOD last night I totally lost it--had to step outside and was just sobbing. (Brief background--I am an ICU physician coming off a tough call week and still need to catch up on some sleep; I don't normally walk around as an emotional basketcase.)

Although I really like the movements of Crossfit, especially the more gymnastic stuff, I feel extremely pressured during the WOD and all I really want to do are the skills and the heavy lifts. I just don't feel like I need yet another aspect of my life in which someone's got a gun to my head (figuratively speaking.)

If any Crossfitters or others would like to weigh in, I would love to hear your opinions; thank you in advance.

sixtoesgirl is offline Member
    Crossfit is intimidating in the beginning. I think I had an advantage because the class I started in was the 5:30 am class and only had 2-3 other people, who were very encouraging and the coach had the time to give me extra guidance. (Since then, the box has grown and the class size tripled and quadrupled.) I did Crossfit for months before I ever RX'd one and it has been a while since I've RX'd another one. Those are goals to work towards and you should not feel like you should RX ever single thing. You are competing against yourself and you should not feel like you have to be an expert at it when you are so new.