Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How much should I be eating? page

cheffy is offline Member

How much should I be eating?

Primal Fuel
    Okay, so here's my background first:
    I'm a 20 year old male, 5'9", 140 lbs. Been primal for about six months now, and have done a lot of research on leptin, carb refeeds, lean gains, etc. I work as a chef, 8 hours a day, and I basically run around the kitchen all day. I'm trying to gain muscle mass, while losing body fat, and considering my already low weight, I'm not expecting to lose any weight, just body fat. I'm figuring that I'm going to recomposition. I lift heavy things 3 days a week, and what I do varies each day (dead lifts, bench press, military press, squats, pull ups, all that compound stuff). I try to do a combo of at least 3 lifts, one push, one pull, and squats.

Now, the question. What I want to know is, how much should I eat each day? On days that I lift AND work? On rest days? On days when I only lift? I've been eating around 1800 calories on rest days, low carb, moderate protein, high fat. On days that I lift and work I eat more, around 2000-2300 calories, sometimes high carb low fat, sometimes the opposite. I also carb refeed on lift+work days every once in a while. Basically what I want to know is, what is a good guess on what my maintenance calories should be? Am I eating enough to lose fat and gain muscle, or should I eat more/less? I'm basically calorie/carb cycling (primal, of course) but how much is enough? Do I eat at maintenance or more on lift days? Any advice is much appreciated, thanks!

Forgot to mention I do a 16/8 IF daily, a la leangains!
    Last edited by cheffy; 01-18-2012 at 10:13 PM.

Misabi is offline Senior Member
    How's it working out for you? Are you frequently hungry? Do you have enough energy and are you putting on muscle or getting skinnier?

Now I don't count calories, but I know I eat a lot more than that and I sit on my butt all day.