Thread: Having trouble with Primal Mayo - Please Help! page

ejkimber is offline Junior Member

Having trouble with Primal Mayo - Please Help!

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hey everyone!

I'm pretty new to the primal lifestyle, embarking on the 21 Day challenge soon and am trying my hand at some of the recipe's in Mark's cookbook. Last night I tried making the mayonnaise and it was WAY too runny! I followed the recipe exactly, and even tried trouble shooting it with other people's ideas I found when I "googled" my problem. None of them helped though, has anyone had this trouble and figured out a way to fix it? Thanks a bunch!

lexie is offline Senior Member
    I've not made primal mayo, but in making mayo at home from other recipes (egg+olive oil+vinegar), I noticed that it does have a much thinner consistency than what we're used to in jars. It's more of a thicker sauce than a solidish spread. That seems to be the real texture of mayo, from what I understand. Is that your problem, or is it completely liquid like?
    Last edited by lexie; 01-18-2012 at 12:25 PM. Reason: typo

Diana Renata is offline Senior Member
    1) Use only the yolks, not the whites.

2) Make sure your ingredients have fully reached room temperature.

jel
    jel is offline Junior Member
    This link explains how I make mayo (with light or EV olive oil). It comes out perfect every time if I take my time with the immersion blender. Takes me 4-5 minutes.

Two-Minute Mayonnaise | Serious Eats : Recipes

Edit: Great point, Diana. I messed up a batch because the eggs were still too cold.

elainevdw is offline Senior Member
    Mark's recipe calls for WAY too much ACV, in my opinion. :P I thickened it up last time by adding another egg yolk. Next time I'm substituting ACV for lemon juice and using a lot less of it.