Thread: Can I cure my hypoglycemia? page

Tritter Guest

Shop Now

I am pretty new to the primal diet (past three weeks or so) and I'd like to start IFing. I ate dinner at around 4 last night (early!) and fasted until lunch, which was around 12. I ended up getting a hypoglycemia episode right before I finished my 20 hour fast.

18 hours seems to be my fasting limit. Can I change this? In the past, I was prone to hypoglycemia attacks, and though I'm less so since I started going primal, I would like to completely eliminate this, or at least reduce it as much as possible so I can IF.

Here's a breakdown of my diet, if it helps:

Breakfast: Usually either about 4 oz of meat with leftover steamed veggies or a handful of nuts + deli meat.

Lunch: BAS with loads of olive oil.

Dinner: Again, 4 oz meat + veggies

Sometimes I have an afternoon and midmorning snack, usually a handful of nuts or dried fruit.

FlyNavyWife is offline Senior Member

Yes, I would get horrible hypoglycemia "attacks" before going primal. There was one day when I didn't eat breakfast because we were going to Outback for lunch, and by the time we got there I couldn't even wait for them to bring the free bread - I had to eat a packet of sugar because I felt like I was going to pass out, was shaking, losing my peripheral vision (if you've had "episodes" I'm sure you know what I mean), all that.

I've done 24 hour fasts with no problem - might be something you have to build up to but eating LOTS of fat helps - if you have trouble fasting, take a look at what your last few meals before the fast were, and try to analyze it a bit. But even so, there's nothing wrong with an 18 hour fast, and I haven't done much more than 24-30 hours because I frankly like to eat. haha.