Thread: Is Carb-binging Good? page

vdm86 is offline Junior Member

Is Carb-binging Good?

Primal Fuel
    Hi all,

I have been eating Primally for about 7 months now. Since then, I have lost 56 lbs, and I feel great. I eat almost strictly primal most of the time, though I have the occasional scoop of ice cream (life's too short not to ). I almost never have grains or bread, even when going out. I've even been known to order a fastfood burger without the bun when I don't want a salad. All of that said, there are times when I want a big burger on a bun and a side of fries, and I've found I'm more successful when I indulge in those cravings on occasion instead of forbidding myself access to something I really want.

My question stems from this. I weigh myself once a week. I tend to lose .5-1.5 lbs a week generally, but I've found that the weeks where I've binged for a meal I have also lost more weight. For instance, last week I enjoyed a burger with bun and milkshake while visiting a friend, along with a handful of salt-water taffy, and this week I am 3 lbs down. I weigh myself the same time every week, so I've limited other factors in weight variance. Is it possible that the occasional carb splurge is actually beneficial?

I'm obviously not advocating including more grains in your diet, but could the occasional burger on a bun actually be helpful in promoting weight loss? I'm interested in others' thoughts and experiences.

iniQuity is offline Senior Member