Thread: Can I gain muscle AND lose fat weight at the same time? page

Neeps is offline Junior Member

Can I gain muscle AND lose fat weight at the same time?

Hi I'm a 33 year old guy and I am relatively new to the primal diet, about 2 months in and loving it so far.

Having been 300 lbs a few years ago I yoyo'd down to 260 lbs over 2 years by calorie counting and cardio. Now that I switched to primal I have lost more weight and I'm now about 235 lbs.

One of the things I remember from the calorie counting days was reading that it was impossible to gain muscle and lose fat at the same time because fat loss required a calorie deficit and muscle gain required a calorie surplus. I saw this stated a number of times on a calorie counting forum and wondered what the opinion of the community here would be on that topic?

Thanks in advance
    Neeps

ppham27 is offline Member
    Yes, see Intermittent fasting diet for fat loss, muscle gain and health.

fat loss and concomitant strength/muscle gain is the norm. Fat loss with full strength/muscle retention is worst case

fiercehunter is offline Banned
    Check out Ori Hofmekler's work and also Lean Hybrid.

Uncephalized is offline Senior Member
    You absolutely can. It's especially easy to do if you are very overweight, which you still are. If you eat healthy and do regular resistance training you will definitely get stronger while also shedding pounds.

Check out leangains.com if you want to really dive into details. Martin Berkhan can get people who are already very fit down to very low body fat while also gaining muscle.
    Today I will: Eat food, not poison. Plan for success, not settle for failure. Live my real life, not a virtual one. Move and grow, not sit and die.

My Primal Journal

Laconophile is offline Senior Member
    Leangains is the way to go. Recomping leangains-style gives you both calorie surpluses (high calorie workout days) and calorie deficits (low calorie rest days as well as the fasts)