Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: When and how will "paleo-washing" start? page

egrande25 is offline Junior Member

When and how will "paleo-washing" start?

Primal Fuel
    Hi all,

I work as an environmental consultant. There is an industry phenomenon called "green-washing". In consumer products, it's essentially when a company tries to increase sales of a product by slapping a "green" or "environmentally-friendly" or "sustainable" label on a product that doesn't deserve it. It can also be seen in the corporate management arena. For example, when a company tries to boost stockholder interest by including "green-friendly" language in its quarterly reports, websites, and signage. If this language reflects real actions the company has taken to be a good corporate citizen, then that's wonderful. However, if it's just a hyped up superficial thing, then it falls into the green-washing category.

As I've gotten into the paleo/Primal lifestyle, my question is this: when will food producers and grocers start "paleo-washing" their products? The paleo/Primal approach to food is a growing phenomenon. It's not yet a household name in my experience (the way "green" now is), but as more and more people jump on board, there will be more and more people willing to shell out money for foods that are "paleo". When food producers and grocers catch on, paleo-washing is bound to happen.

Has anyone seen this phenomenon already, in labeling or grocery store signage? I would imagine health food stores such as Whole Foods would be early adopters as their customer base is more attuned to health trends.

drssgchic is offline Senior Member
    Who is it around here that has that link to the vegan "primal jerky?" *shudder*

iniQuity is offline Senior Member