Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: No fruit? page

lopisheep is offline Senior Member

No fruit?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hi. I'm pretty new to this (Day 4) but have been reading a lot of the forums and journals for quite some time. I noticed that most of the people don't seem to be eating any fruit (avocados and tomatoes excepted). Is that okay? Not feeling like I need that apple a day and the soaked walnuts seem to be enough. Just checking.

bryanccfshr is offline Senior Member
    IOther than avocados and tomatoes(they are really out of season now) I have apples in my kitchen. I ate one 2 weeks ago on a lift heavy things day. but they usually go bad before I want one.
    Integrity is what we do when nobody's watching.

MvEssen is offline Senior Member
    Fruit is not really needed for anything much. If you want some fruit, go ahead. If you don't then don't. It's really not an issue either way.

The antioxidants and vitamin c found in fruit can be attained via vegetables just as easy. The fructose content of the fruit won't kill you or make you fat (unless you eat quite a lot of it). Regardless what anyone sais really.

EDIT: Just to be sure we're talking about whole food here. Juice is crap.

Danielle5690 is offline Senior Member
    I've seen this alot too... the interesting thing is that usually what people mean is no sweet fruits. They're usually eating quite a few fruits in the form of tomatoes, cucumber, avocado, olives, squashes, and peppers... all of which give you wonderful nutrition without the copious amounts of fructose you get in, say, a banana or an orange.

If you eat lots of food from plants in a good variety of colors, along with plenty of meat and healthy fat, you're getting great nutrition. If your goal is to lose weight, it's a good idea to avoid things that taste sweet for a while... including fruit. I hope that answers your question.

ChocoTaco369 is offline Senior Member