Thread: any former running fanatics here? page

Primal Fuel

Hello,

I would like to reduce the amount of running I do. I don't necessarily need to lose weight but would rather be more toned instead of "skinny fat."

Any former runners have any advice on lessening the amount of running and ditching the fear of fat way of eating? I'm hoping for female responses but will welcome men's, too.

Get Primal is offline Junior Member

Male marathoner/ultramarathoner here. Since I changed my diet and workout methods my jeans fit the same yet I weigh 15 lbs more. Definitely look less like a marathon runner and more like an athlete. Not sure how to ditch the fear, I'm not very good with touchy feely subjects My advice is to just do it and you'll be glad you did. My running has been reduced by 50% or more and my race times aren't slowing down. I still run 30 mpw but do a lot of high intensity interval and strength work now...it's done wonders for my overall fitness and physique. Best of luck and welcome!

Diana Renata is offline Senior Member

Well I was never a marathoner, but I'm pretty proud to say I was averaging 35 mpw (which is pretty good for somebody who previously couldn't run for 30 seconds.)

I cut back on my running and upped my strength training, and I absolutely love it. I like to run still, but I it for play rather than to burn calories. I've discovered that when I want to go on a long run I can and not feel burned out even though I don't run long distances regularly.

It took me a little while to wrap my brain around going full PB (and ditching dairy.) I was terrified I'd gain back the weight I'd worked so hard to lose. So far so good though. I have more muscle and find that I'm able to do things (and lift things) that I never have before.

ChristinaP Guest