Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Paleo and Honey page

canucks is offline Junior Member

Paleo and Honey

Primal Fuel
    I'm starting to eat paleo, but I have been taking a spoon of honey in a cup of water for a few months now. I was wondering if taking honey is ok.

Raine is offline Member
    Honey is not paleo, some say raw honey is ok (not if you are allergic to bees though) but I don't personally think it is due to it's high fructose content. You would be better off wirh pure coconut palm sugar as it's low gi.

Bosnic is offline Senior Member
    Is there a specific reason you're doing this?

lexie is offline Senior Member
    I'm still new to this too, but I take a spoon of local honey each day as well. I just make sure to watch what other sugar I consume. I was advised to do so to help with my allergies. I have noticed a decrease in allergy issues when I remember to take a dose. It has to be local honey, though - other types of honey have no effect.

Catherine is offline Senior Member
    i usu eat a tsp of local honey every AM as well. I believe it helps me with local pollen. Probably it doesn't really do anything, but I do it anyway. I've noticed my sensitivity to allergens & pollen have decreased dramatically anyway since i stopped eating wheat & sugar so i could probably drop the honey but i'm a little superstitious.

jakey is offline Senior Member
    honey - real raw honey - has got to be considered paleo. fruit has fructose too, and it's paleo. when you're talking about a natural, whole food, fructose content alone cannot qualify it as non-paleo. why? cause that's my opinion! LOL, no higher authority here.

that being said, i almost never eat honey!

now... why are you taking a teaspoon of it every morning? is there a point to this ritual?

Bron is offline Senior Member