Thread: Karateka goes Primal page

Vagabond is offline Junior Member

Karateka goes Primal

First off a little background. I use to be fat. 237 lbs and 5'10". When I was a junior I grew 2 inches and lost 60 lbs. Then I started body building. I got back up to 190 pure muscle (light belly but solid abs). After school I stopped lifting and went to about 185 lbs, pretty flabby. After a while I started training in Capoeira and lost weight and trimmed up. Now I study Karate and weigh 183 lbs with a large build. My goal is to get my weight in check and finally attain the fabled 8 pack. On top of the asethetics I want to feel good about what I eat, and not have to count calories. After pasta or snacks I always feel sluggish, and bloated afterwards. I work hard to be fit, and I want to feel like it.

My wife has finally agreed to start living primal with me (as long as we can go to sushi once a month and she can have an occasional rum and coke). We bought the quick and easy Primal cook book. We plan out meals, and purchase the grocery accordingly. We will eat 2 meals a day, and have healthy snacks (almonds, vegetables, berries, etc) inbetween if we are hungery.

Alright so my first week started off great! I ate a lot of good food, in fact I cooked two recipes from my new book each day. Unfortunately it has been a roller coaster about half way through the third week. I would say i am eating 60% primal. I do not want any pasta, but I have had some baked goods here and there, and a milkshake once or twice. I would say that the biggest issues I have had so far are certain nights I work (night shifters bring a lot of high carb snacky food) and the occasional potluck at my class.

I have been really good about making healthy choices around the house. Lately I have been trying to lower my portions of food and cook primal meals from my cookbook all on one day so that I can take them to work. This is a work in progress, but my wife and I are slowly making the journey.