Thread: I think I'm passed the "recovery" stage, and have officially developed... page

raney is offline Senior Member

I think I'm passed the "recovery" stage, and have officially developed...

Primal Fuel
    ...arthritis.

As some of you may have gleaned from my posts here and on PH, I've been fighting an infected broken tibia for the last 6+ months.

At this point: I believe to have 90% healed the fracture, and I do not believe I still have an infection. My surgeon would disagree with you, but I'm pretty sure he gets paid$$ if we go back into surgery. We won't talk about him for now.

However, I had a large and severely devastating realization on my walk home this evening (it's 15 degrees and snowing): I've passed the acute "recovery stage" - and now, just as they warned me "may happen", I've developed arthritis in the rebuilt ankle joint. There are nine titanium pins holding my talus bone together - and yes, for those of you that know your skeletal anatomy: that is both a tiny and pivotal bone to have that much hardware in.

I suppose this means that I, all of the sudden, no longer have an option in my diet. I'd noticed over the last few months that the better I eat, the better I feel (in the ankle) - and I'd been chalking that up to the infection. But it dawned on me tonight, there's a very good chance that this is forever.

Wow. Really? I'm 24; I'm really not sure I'm ready to have absolutely no choice. I really appreciate the knowledge that I have, and the ability I have to make myself feel nearly superhuman in my strength - but, as a mandate? I'm having a hard time swallowing this new reality. I've only gotten through the recovery to this point by telling myself that it was a cumulative process, and at some point I would be "good as new" again. It really hurts to acknowledge that I may not.

SeanM is offline Senior Member