Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: In line at the grocery store today page

kevingeary is offline Senior Member

Primal Fuel

I was in line at the grocery store today and the lady behind me with her child started putting stuff up on the conveyer belt.

I looked at each item come up, and my brain translated:

sugar.........sugar.........sugar.......more sugar........fruit...........sugar.....more sugar......milk..........sugar......

Seriously...95% of it was from the interior of the store; processed garbage.

Stabby is offline Senior Member

That's so.... weak!

I'm a tire technician at a Costco and when it's slow they ask me to go pack groceries for them. So some days I'm personally handling the groceries of hundreds of people. All I want to do is grab them by the neck, give them a couple of shakes and scream "you're supposed to feed your kids food!"

Stabbing conventional wisdom in its face.

Anyone who wants to talk nutrition should PM me!

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member

A Wal-Mart Supercentre opened up nearby, the first of its kind in the province. I checked it out. It was abyssmal, of course, like any old Wal-Mart but bigger and with more palpable failure in the air. For a laugh I went to see what kind of groceries they stocked, thinking I'd get to see some outrageous American goodies that haven't quite made it to Canada yet.

I found a narrow section of an aisle called "Sugar Free Candy." I investigated!

I couldn't find any product that didn't have "sugar" listed as the first ingredient, nor anything that even boasted being sugar-free on the label.

Some days I feel like I'm going crazy.

You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

BarbeyGirl is offline Senior Member

Ugh. I do that, too.

...and then I wonder how many of those women loading up bags of Healthy Choice entrees look in my cart at all the bacon and sausage and steak and avocados and coconut milk and nuts, and look at me, and wonder how someone so lean can eat that much fat.