Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Support your local farmer...CSA's page

nettle1976 is offline Junior Member

Support your local farmer...CSA's

Hello all! I am an organic farmer from Montana. I am new to the primal diet (3 months in). It seems as though everyone here eats copious (in a good way) amounts of veggies, eggs and meats. I want to mention some local food options for folks on this forum who may not know about organic farms, CSA's and meat co-ops. I think is is very primal to buy local and eat seasonally .
    #1. Our farm is a CSA farm. CSA stand for community Supported Agriculture. It is basically a pay in advance vegetable subscription that starts in May-ish and runs through October -ish. It is a great deal, super fresh food once a week, you support local ag, and it is a taste of eating seasonal! You can find your CSA farm online on a website called Local harvest. There are sometimes options for eggs and meat included. *Often you can also buy root crops & winter greens in the winter from local farms as well. Contact them!
    #2. Buy a cow! You can actually by a whole or half cow, pig, lamb...ect from a local farmer. yes, they will butcher it for you (unless of course you feel the need to do it yourself! )
    #3. Local Eggs- All eggs are not equal..buy local! They are super fresh..especially when eating raw it is really important! Try to buy eggs that are not fed GMO corn, are free range..pastured poultry is best!
    #4. Chicken CSA- There are many chicken CSA's popping up. The same for veggies but with fresh chicken. Same for eggs..choose pastured poultry.
    #5. Farmer's markets ! Make sure what you buy is free from pesticides, herbicides and non-organic petroleum free fertilizers. Ask questions! Some say pesticide free but use dangerous fertilizers!
    That is all I can think of! Okay, I will step of my soapbox!

bdilla is offline Senior Member