Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Too Many Calories? (Or is this CW messing with my head?!) page

brickfur is offline Member

Exclamation Too Many Calories? (Or is this CW messing with my head?!)

Primal Fuel
    Hi everyone! I'm very new to the PB way of living, currently vegetarian (plans/beliefs slowly changing...), and damn confused...

I just added up my calories/carbs etc. for the day on PaleoTrack, and got 1094 calories.
    I'm 18, female, about 62kg and 5'4"ish...

Is this too high for weight loss? (Weight loss is something I'm definitely, desperately after, aside from optimal health, of course!)

Break down was 67% calories from fat, 18% from carbohydrates, and 15% from protein... I know this is certainly less than ideal, but I'm overcoming my fear of fat at least, and I'm going to make a real effort with the protein when I am able...

Here's a log for the day, if anyone can please help me out... quite worried...

BRUNCH
    -2 eggs, scrambled, with butter
    -1 slice local, organic cheese

LATE LUNCH
    -1 egg, fried, with butter
    -5 button mushroooms, fried with butter
    -2 slice local, organic cheese

SNACKS
    -about 20 small red grapes
    -1 small plum
    -handful of cashews (ARE THESE A LEGUME? I'M CONFUSED! Whats your stance on them?)
    -handful of pepitas

dragonmamma is offline Senior Member
    Hi, Brick. The calories are fine, but it's not the right stuff. Starting off a primal diet with a bunch of dairy products and nuts is a big mistake, as those are things that should be peripheral, not the bulk of your diet.

Where are your veggies? That should be the bulk of your diet. Here's an example of what I would switch in your menu:
    Brunch: 2 eggs scrambled with butter and a chopped up avocado on top.
    Late lunch: 2 eggs fried in butter, with mushrooms and spinach. Sweet potato on the side.
    Skip the snacks: Have a giant salad with olive oil dressing or a lovely broccoli squash stir-fry.