Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to eat while suffering the stomach flu? page

sasuga is offline Member

Exclamation What to eat while suffering the stomach flu?

Primal Fuel
    I recently came down with a nasty stomach flu, this is my first time while being paleo. doctor tell you to eat crackers, bread, rice, all that "good" stuff. but i know better now xP

so i just sipped gatorade and sucked on ice chips yesterday, it was all i could handle. today i'm feeling better, but i'm so hungry! D:

I managed to keep jello and apple juice down, and i know these aren't real paleo things, but i'm desperate guys, an at least i didn't have an all you can eat buffet of grains and starch.

but what are some foods that fit into the paleo diet that are easy on stomachs during a time like this?
    Eat to live, don't live to eat.

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    i just learned that it's best to eat nothing when you are sick; it interrupts the body's natural healing process (which includes fever, aches and pains, etc.)...so forget what most doctors recommend; they are treating the symptoms, not the illness.

now that you're hungry, i'd say go with lighter foods (i had the flu a week ago...best to ease back in for a day). probably one of the best things i can think of is garlic soup. here's a link to a thread about it: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread19191.html
    it has broth/stock (go with chicken instead of veggie), garlic, eggs, spices...and it's delicious. it's also light, easy, and makes you feel better. after that, move up to more solid foods like eggs and cooked veggies, then to meat and whatever. i had the flu on monday, garlic soup and gatorade on tuesday, and was back to real food and exercise by wednesday. something in that soup works.

GrokON is offline Senior Member
    Another vote for nothing but water. Gatorade? Seriously?! Maybe that's why you're so hungry!