Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Soy Sauce? page

  1. #1
    Bosnic's Avatar
    Bosnic is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    646

    Soy Sauce?

    Primal Fuel
    In terms of phytoestrogen activity, how bad is soy sauce? As someone who is looking to increase their testosterone and general energy, should it be avoided?

    What alternatives could I use on my rice?

    EDIT: This thread kind of derailed. The soy sauce I'm using does not contain wheat or gluten. I'm specifically just wondering about the phytoestrogens. How big of a factor are they to someone looking to improve their hormones?
    Last edited by Bosnic; 04-13-2012 at 03:20 PM.

  2. #2
    Tricialisha's Avatar
    Tricialisha is offline Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    84
    I have no idea about phytoestrogen activity or increased testoterone.... but I can offer this much:

    Soy sauce is not gluten free and should be avoided. A good substitute is coconut aminos.
    Last edited by Tricialisha; 01-05-2012 at 05:55 PM.

  3. #3
    lazatiger's Avatar
    lazatiger is offline Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    85
    You can buy gluten-free Tamari. Most health food grocery stores carry it. The stuff I have is so concentrated that I have to add water to it, so I get more out of it.

  4. #4
    helpmerhonda's Avatar
    helpmerhonda is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1
    Bragg Liquid Aminos are a natural soy sauce alternative that is gluten-free and tastes just like soy sauce. I get it in the organic section of my grocery store.

  5. #5
    DaisyEater's Avatar
    DaisyEater is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,784
    Quote Originally Posted by helpmerhonda View Post
    Bragg Liquid Aminos are a natural soy sauce alternative that is gluten-free and tastes just like soy sauce. I get it in the organic section of my grocery store.
    But it uses unfermented soy, so it will have more of the soy anti-nutrients.

  6. #6
    Lindsay Grok's Avatar
    Lindsay Grok is offline Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Bonner, Montana
    Posts
    45
    Aminos are a fantastic substitute. My mom introduced aminos and I used it for ages thinking it was soy sauce! Great in marinades as well!
    Lindsay Groks On

    "Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint."
    -- Mark Twain


  7. #7
    Misabi's Avatar
    Misabi is online now Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,879
    I use tamari (fermented soy with no wheat or sugar added) at home, but to be honest I don't sweat it if I'm eating out as it doesn't happen often. I don't think fermented soy is an issue, though I may be wrong. For me the wheat in the sauce is a bigger issue.
    If you're interested in my (very) occasional updates on how I'm working out and what I'm eating click here.

    Quote Originally Posted by tfarny View Post
    If you are new to the PB - please ignore ALL of this stuff, until you've read the book, or at least http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/ and this (personal fave): http://www.archevore.com/get-started/

  8. #8
    Conner P.'s Avatar
    Conner P. is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    282
    I know its not trustworthy, but the Kikoman brand does not list wheat as an ingredient.

  9. #9
    Misabi's Avatar
    Misabi is online now Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,879
    Kikkoman soy sauce does contain wheat. Even their tamari does!... Don't know how they even get away with calling it tamari sauce.
    If you're interested in my (very) occasional updates on how I'm working out and what I'm eating click here.

    Quote Originally Posted by tfarny View Post
    If you are new to the PB - please ignore ALL of this stuff, until you've read the book, or at least http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/ and this (personal fave): http://www.archevore.com/get-started/

  10. #10
    hockeyfan7's Avatar
    hockeyfan7 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North Carolina USA
    Posts
    145
    Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    LaChoy soy sauce is gluten-free. There is no wheat in it. Kikkoman is not.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •