Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why should a newbie wait to start IF? page

banananutmuffin is offline Senior Member

Why should a newbie wait to start IF?

Primal Fuel
    I am a newbie to Primal Living (4 days in) with only about 10 lbs of fat to lose. I have a hard time both losing and gaining weight, so I am pretty sure just sticking 100% primal diet won't be enough for me to make a significant fat loss.

I have heard that IF can help people really lean out. But I have also heard it mentioned that newbies to primal shouldn't try IFing right away.

What's the reason for that? Would it be damaging to start IFing now, even though I have just recently adopted the primal lifestyle?
    Female, 40 yrs old, 5', 120 lbs (post-pregnancy)
    Went Primal January 2, 2012!

Paleo Cooking for Cavekids cookbook

Linny is offline Senior Member
    I think it's to give your body time to adjust and regulate blood sugars. I am insulin resistant and it took about 6 weeks of eating 100% primal before I stopped getting hypoglycemic symptoms. After that I just felt ready for weekly fasting. I think you'll know when you're ready to IF - decreased hunger, level sugars, etc.

Glockin Grok is offline Senior Member
    It think is has to do with 2 things... first... going primal is already a big change... make one at a time... Second as posted above... get over the carb flu first so your body is not starving at the cellular level then fast away.

sbhikes is offline Senior Member