Thread: F.lux like effects for mobile devices page

Barefoot Paul is offline Senior Member

F.lux like effects for mobile devices android and iphone

Shop Now
    I’m a college student, and after Mark posted about F.lux a while ago on the blog, I checked it out. I enjoyed how removing blue light reduced evening monitor strain on my eyes. Also, I have no proof, but I feel like I get tired sooner and no longer find myself spending late nights browsing on my computer. I longed to duplicate it on my phone as I am often up late doing homework only to be blinded by my phone when I get a text. Also, for a few minutes after i get in bed, I like to text some before finally falling asleep, but can't stand the blinding blue light from my phone. I've found the solution using an android app called Cf.lumen.

However, like I said this is for android phones. If you are an iPhone user I believe you can get f.lux for your mobile device. I’m not sure how to do it, but I think you could find more information here.

Additionally, this app requires root access. If you’re not sure what root is then you don’t have it. To find more information about rooting and whether it is a good idea to do this to your device check this out.

This app is is only reported to have been tested on some devices, but its likely that it will work on most all modern devices. Cf.lumen works as an add on to the app Chainfire3D(pro). (All these apps are available in the market). And yeah, it’s the pro version...That means it will cost you a total of $3.99. I don’t really mind paying for it though. These apps can do a lot more than just adjust the RGB and Kelvin of your screen. See the listing in the market of Chainfire 3d pro and Cf.lumen for info on all the goodies they can get you.

Finally, if you mess up your phone, it’s your fault, not mine.