Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Weight lifting shoes: Where's the threshold? page

MikeEnRegalia is offline Senior Member

Weight lifting shoes: Where's the threshold?

So it's obvious that when you're lifting really heavy weights (squat, deadlift, maybe even press) you benefit from weight lifting shoes. I don't have any, and I'm a beginner lifter. My question to experienced lifters: If my goal is not to become a competitive athlete (in which case I would obviously need weight lifting shoes), can I get by without the shoes up to an advanced level - or is the threshold from which on I need the shoes so low that in order to really benefit from the lifting, I need the shoes?

I'm a tall guy (5'9''), pretty heavy at 220# with quite a lot of body fat (just short of being obese). Yesterday I did a 20 reps set of full back squats with 120lbs on the bar, and although it was metabolically challenging, it didn't feel at all like my shoes were a limiting factor (sneakers, flat uncushioned sole but no heel). I guess what I'm wondering is at which point the shoes will become a limiting factor. My goal is not to squat as much weight as I can - since I'm doing this for health and fitness, my goal is to substantially improve the weight on the bar (realistically: up to about 300#, which would be twice my lean body mass).

Opinions?

Abu Reena is offline Senior Member
    meh. I lift in Chucks for nearly everything. For squats (I'm at 305, which is about 1.5x bodyweight), I do use weightlifting shoes to position my knees better, but if I"m not doing it that heavy, I may just use my Chucks.

You can get by without shoes for a good long time. At some point, you may find it useful. Rippetoe recommends them, but YMMV. I've found that my groin muscles are less likely to get tweaked if I wear them when lifting heavy. But if you're doing 20 reps, you don't need them. I'd cut down on the reps, though, and up the intensity. 3 sets of 5 reps at a higher intensity is better than 20 reps.