Thread: Switching from Vegan/Raw to Primal in Mid-Life page

MrsFairbanks is offline Junior Member

Switching from Vegan/Raw to Primal in Mid-Life

Hello!

I'm a middle-aged homeschool mom who was vegan and then raw for a couple of years, but still tired. I'm seeing a natural practitioner, who put me on a Primal-type diet. He says the body can only get so healthy from raw foods; at some point, it needs animal protein to heal. So here I am.

I've been eating fairly close to a Primal diet for about three months, but adding in peanuts and lots of cheese, not watching the fat or anything. Now, after three months, I'm starting to feel a little better, but I'm frustrated at my progress. I'm cutting out peanuts and cheese, and I'm ready to start exercising. I've never liked exercise, not even as a child. I have about ten pounds that I've never been able to lose for very long.

I don't know fit I can expect to get at my age, but any improvement will be better than nothing! :-)

primalsun is offline Member
    Welcome! I was a vegan for nine months and although it was a short amount of time it landed me with a ton of health problems and nutritional deficiencies. I too was looking to lose weight but actually ended up gaining about ten pounds when I sarted primal. Of course, this weight was mostly muscle and most likely skeletal tissue that my body wanted to make but couldnt due to my veganism. Give your body time to heal and make sure you eat a good amount of healthy fats ( pastured butter, tallow, coconut oil) to allow your body the tools it needs to rebuild itself. It will be easier to lose weight once your body has been healed and your hormones are in check. Also, i would try removing all dairy for a few weeks to see how you feel. Good luck with the rest of your journey!

Zophie is offline Senior Member
    Hi there, Welcome.

I'm a homeschooling Xvegan too! Good luck with your new lifestyle.