Thread: Pain in the butt page

thaijinx is offline Senior Member

Pain in the butt

Primal Fuel
    Does anyone else suffer from acute butt pain? I get it on both sides of my buttocks... and also have extreemly tight leg muscles, right the way down to my ankles.

I used to think it was sciatica, but now think it's caused by tight periformis (as pain seems to alleviate with periformis stretching.)

I'm reading about acute SI join dysfunction as a possible overall cause, and recently come across the Kalindra method.

I have been told that I have one leg longer than the other, not sure if that is a cause of my leg pain, or a symptom of tight muscles.

Has anyone found a diet/stretching/exercise protocol that has alleviated the pain? I am fairly new to Paleo, have gotten barefoot shoes, and am stretching and using a foam roller everyday to see if this helps, as well as walking, and beginning to do some strength exercises (squats, lunges, etc) but the pain keeps flaring up.

Also, what is the best position to sit / sleep in, if you have tight periformis / ITBand issues? As I don't want to exacerbate the issue.

Thanks.

cantubury is offline Junior Member

Piriformus

i had the same pains, tightness and l5,s1 problems. i bought a thing called the wedgey and it basically pushed up my coccyx and i began leg exercises for gluts and stretching backward on a large ball. it took a few weeks but worked. you can look up this device its just a piece of rubber that helps with posture. breathing and meditation works. good luck. usually 8 weeks.

Dirlot is offline Senior Member
    There are a few good roller and tennis balls release techniques if you google them. It should ease up.
    How much are you walking each day?
    Eating primal is not a diet, it is a way of life.
    PS
    Don't forget to play!

marcadav is offline Senior Member