Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: need help with shoes page

diinky1119 is offline Member

need help with shoes

Shop Now
    I have been a hairstylist for 35 yrs. I knew going primal was for me when i read about the barefoot thing . I have been eating primal for about 2 months now and am finally losing and i love it . back to shoes . I hate shoes am always barefoot at home , but i need a new pair of shoes for work and usually wear clogs . I cant stand socks and lace up tennis shoes . my feet hurt when i wear them so much more .. its like they squeeze my feet . so conventional wisdom strikes again telling us to wear them !! I need opinions on shoes for standing but i do walk around my salon a bit also.. maybe just flip flops? . vibram 5 fingers or what . i am open to suggestions . thanks in advance

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    vibrams are great. they are probably the closest shoe to being barefoot because they are so form fitting, have a super thin sole, no support, etc....but mostly they allow your toes to flare out better than most shoes. on top of that, they are one hell of a conversation piece, which i'm guessing is helpful in a salon. for casual work wear, go with something simple like the classics. if you want to do a little more with them, the sprints are really versatile, easy and have a simple, smoother sole not built for long runs or hiking (some are built for outside, you probably want the simpler models for work).

but, those aren't your only option. i actually wear a pair of water shoes at work. they're completely flat, no support, wide toe box, etc., and they only cost me $15. there are a lot of minimalist/barefoot options out there, but they're pricey. water shoes or ballet flats will feel about the same while costing less than $20.

hey thanks .. do you think it will take a while for me to get used to wearing shoes with no support .. im concerned about knees and my back ? thx!!

primalrob is offline Senior Member