Thread: Clarifying question about eating to lose weight page

afroette is offline Member

Question Clarifying question about eating to lose weight

Primal Fuel
    Hi All,
    I am relatively new to the way of eating. I have a crap of weight to lose as my signature details. I understand that I restrict my carbs to 50 g or less a day to lose weight. I'd like to know if I need to restrict the overall number of calories too. I remember reading a post by Mark not too long ago where he warns against too much almond flour consumption which leads to excessive calorie intake. So, again do I need to target 2000 cal or so a day? Assume that I still am learning the concept of "eating until full." Thanks for the help guys!
    5'9", 31 yr old female
    SW 364 - Started Primal about 12/5/11
    CW 293
    2nd GW 270

YAY! Vit. D deficiency gone and HDL finally over 40! 1/20/12

jammies is offline Senior Member
    This is a very hotly debated topic on this forum. Everyone has their own opinion on this and people who eat this way have found different ways to be successful including calorie counting within a primal framework. (And be forewarned this question brings out a lot of our resident trolls who don't really eat a primal diet and will just tell you to count calories and not worry about anything else.)

Personally, I did not need to count calories to lose weight eating a primal diet. I didn't even count carbs. What I did that worked well for me was stay very focused on the core of primal eating. Lots of fats, meats, and veggies. I ate fruit and nuts - but they were reserved for "emergency" meals - running late for work and no time to cook - I would grab a banana and some cashews. That kind of thing. The vast majority of my meals were homecooked meats, fats, and veggies. It is very hard to over-eat that way because my appetite really dropped.