Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Cassanina's Primal Journal (Hooray!) page

Cassanina is offline Senior Member

Cassanina's Primal Journal (Hooray!)

Primal Fuel
    Accountability. That's what this is.

I come from a family of fairly overweight women, except, by some miracle, for my two younger sisters. My mother, my aunts, my grandmother....all overweight. Scratch that. All OBESE. In fact, my mother just had Lap Band surgery a month ago. Pre-diabetic, and my grandmother is full out diabetic with many other health problems. If I don't change my ways, I'll end up just like they are.

Thankfully, I'm not obese. But I definitely have a good 25-35 pounds that shouldn't be around. I'm in the military, and while I can (sometimes BARELY) pass their body fat standards, I am unhappy with how I look and feel. Even worse, I'm an officer and supposed to be setting a good example for all those around me. Epic fail! (So far at least).

When I was in Iraq in 2009, I first heard of the Paleo diet and read Loren Cordain's book. It made a lot of sense to me, and I was able to change my ways, but I was still severely addicted to carbs and would binge at least once a week, and hard. Come to find out, I have been living in denial about having an eating disorder for the last 5-10 years. I am an overeater, a binge-eater, and (I think) a recovering one now.

I was abused when I was around 4-6yrs old (and wow, I just posted that to the whole world) and share that in hopes that it may eventually help others who have been. As a result, I shaped this whole self esteem inside my head where I wasn't good enough, which resulted in a full blown eating disorder in my 20s. I went to counseling and it wasn't until I started working on the abuse (the cause) rather than the eating disorder (the symptom) that things started to get better.