Thread: Inexpensive alternative to Barefoot page

iniQuity is offline Senior Member

Primal Fuel

Many people go the Vibram Five Fingers route, and that's good but for those that don't want to spend 60+ I have been using swim shoes without the insert (insole) for quite a few months and I love it. The "support" is minimal, about as much as you would get from Vibrams and they last a looong time too, great traction for hills.

Some downsides:

- I go for a tight fit and my big toes have managed to poke holes through the fabric, I don't mind/care but some of you might.

- Folks tell me it looks like I have ballet shoes on, again, if you don't care it's all gravy.

- You will most likely not get that "earthy" response from your feet as you would if you were going barefoot, but if weather and surface aren't kind I believe this is a great inexpensive alternative.

Upsides:

- You can buy a pair for $5, probably upwards of $10.

- Taking out the insert and not wearing socks will give you a serious ground feeling, I feel everything under my feet but I prevent blistering and soreness of the foot by not exposing it to hard gravel.

- If you get all-black ones you're less likely to hear any random comments

- If the top cloth part doesn't tear they will last forever, I've had mine for about 8-9 months, my mileage is low though at 10 a week. (I mostly sprint now, but 2 months ago I was doing 3-5 mile runs thrice a week)

I'm not saying folks shouldn't go barefoot, straight up barefoot feels great and can't be beat but for ME personally I don't like having blistered feet or not being able to walk because I ran a little too much. I guess I'm not patient enough to let my feet adjust. The climate too, with my swim shoes I can run in the cold as well as the heat and my feet always feel great. I have correct posture and barefoot form while running/sprinting.