Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The importance of eating fat to lose weight page

mando is offline Junior Member

The importance of eating fat to lose weight

Shop Now
    I have been eating Primal for almost two years now, and I think one of the biggest fears that people have about this diet is that eating so much fat will make them fat, or in the very least make it impossible to lose weight. This is why it is so hard for many people to start eating this way. What people don't understand usually is that eating fat does not make you fat. In turn, we can eat as much of it as we want.

We should eat a lot of fat. When I started this diet I weighed 190. I now weigh 172 and my diet is made up primarily of fats and protein. For instance I eat lots of bacon, cheese, heavy cream, grass-fed beef, and dark chocolate. I usually eat those extremely fatty foods every day. I am a good example of someone who eats an obscene amount of fat - and has become trimmer because of it. I just wanted to clarify that important point, because several of my friends who have started to eat Primal the last few months have gotten majorly hung up on this subject.

I guess many people won't believe that they can actually LOSE weight by eating lots of fat until they do it. Besides Mark's books and posts, two other books that really bring home this point are Fat: The Weight Loss Secret and Eat Fat, Lose Fat. Those links go to their Amazon pages. Cheers

duckmama is offline Senior Member
    Eating fat is one of the first red flags that goes up for people who ask me about eating Primal. I tell them what I eat, and I can immediately see the panic and shock set into their faces. I try to offset that by pointing out that my cholesterol numbers are fantastic. I've had them checked twice in the past year, and my naturopath (who is Primal too) says they're "practically sparkling" they're so optimal. Pass the bacon and butter please!

Sue
    Sue is offline Senior Member